T H E  S T U D I O


 
Art triumphs: in his Cuernavaca studio-library, Vlady wrestles with the demons of the twentieth century.


At 1,500 metres' altitude, the tropics resemble eternal spring. Vlady's studio is located on the hill overlooking the town, hidden in a profusion of flowers, multicoloured cacti, palm trees, and ferns, all dripping with verdant liana vines.

 
In the centre of the studio stands the current work in progress. It was here that Vlady painted the young revolutionary in the balaclava: the image of Innocence, both victim and victor. Today, the full-length portrait of the bishop of Chiapas, Samuel Ruiz, is the work in progress. In the background, the painting of a mad Xerxes whipping up the waves of the uncaring ocean dominates the eight-metre-high space. A scaffolding enables Vlady to scale the height of the giant, ever-unfinished work to add a touch of colour, another layer of varnish. A lithography press seems to sit in waiting. By the bay window is a corner office with books, many books: Nietzsche, Malraux, Élie Faure, Jacbo Burckhardt, his dear Charles Andler, and, of course, Victor Serge's works in French, Spanish, Russian, English. Through the window, visitors catch a glimpse of a bust of Trotsky.

Within this environment mixing peaceful happiness and intellectual tumult, Vlady wrestles with the demons of the twentieth century, glorifying them or laying them to rest, then returning to transfigure them yet again.


THE IMAGINARY MUSEUM

Day by day, every artist builds an "imaginary museum" culled from his or her cultural wanderings: a war chest amassed throughout a lifetime of travel and exploration. In Vlady's imaginary museum, the great artists of the world through the centuries are called upon not only for their influence, but also for their assistance at the birth of a new work, the creation of something that is other.

In this section, we present works by Titian, Velásquez, Rubens, Delacroix, and other masters, along with Vlady's comments on his "fellow travellers."

These comments are in the form of both text and paintings.


Vlady peignant Nietzsche à la demande de Jean-Guy Rens (1999-2000). Le tableau ne sera jamais terminé.

L ' A T E L I E R


 
Triomphe de l'art: dans son atelier-bibliothèque de Cuernavaca, Vlady se collette avec les démons du XXe siècle.
Extrait sonore
(téléchargez RealAudio)


Les tropiques à 1 500 mètres d'altitude ressemblent au printemps éternel. L'atelier de Vlady est installé sur les hauteurs qui dominent la ville, enfoui dans une profusion de fleurs, de cactus multicolores, de palmiers et de plantes arborescentes retombant en lianes verdoyantes.

 
Au centre de l'atelier: le portrait en pied de l'évêque du Chiapas Samuel Ruiz. Au fond: le tableau de la folie de Xerxès faisant fouetter les vagues de la mer insouciante domine l'espace de ses huit mètres de haut. Un échafaudage permet à Vlady d'escalader l'oeuvre géante jamais terminée pour y ajouter une touche de couleur, une épaisseur de vernis. Une presse pour les gravures semble attendre. Près de la baie vitrée, un coin est aménagé en bureau avec des livres, beaucoup de livres: Nietzsche, Malraux, Élie Faure, Jacob Burckhardt, son cher Charles Andler et, bien sûr, des oeuvres de Victor Serge en français, espagnol, russe, anglais. À travers la fenêtre, on distingue un buste de Trotsky.

À partir de ce mélange de bonheur pacifié et de tumulte intellectuel, Vlady se collette avec les démons du XXe siècle, il les magnifie ou les terrasse, revient à la charge pour les transfigurer une fois de plus.


LE MUSÉE IMAGINAIRE

Jour après jour, chaque artiste compose un «musée imaginaire» à partir de ses pérégrinations culturelles: véritable butin de guerre amassé tout au long d'une existence de vagabondage et d'exploration. Dans le musée imaginaire de Vlady les grands noms de l'art mondial se donnent la main à travers les siècles non pour exercer une influence, mais pour participer à la naissance d'une oeuvre nouvelle, pour créer quelque chose d'autre.

Cette section est appelée à réunir des références à des artistes (Titien, Velásquez, Rubens, Delacroix...) ou des intellectuels (Marx, Nietzsche, Gide, Breton...) et les commentaires de Vlady sur ses «compagnons de route»."

Ces commentaires prendront la forme de textes et de tableaux.


Vlady peignant Nietzsche à la demande de Jean-Guy Rens (1999-2000). Le tableau ne sera jamais terminé.